IGCSE and the GCE Advanced Level have international credibility as an educational qualification and are widely accepted as prestigious university entrance qualifications. T.I.S. offers these programmmes, whose examinations are conducted by Cambridge Local Examination Syndicate in United Kingdom. These courses are taken by students in Grades Nine, Ten, Eleven and Twelve.

A. Cambridge IGCSE:

Thamer International Schools IGCSE

Thamer International Schools are authorized to conduct Cambridge IGCSE and holds the Cambridge IGCSE examination sessions twice a year, in May/June and October/November .

Students are prepared to appear for the official IGCSE exams starting from Grade 9 and assessment takes place at the end of the course which is the end of Grade 10.

In Grade Nine, students must take the following subjects: English as a Second Language, Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Information Technology, Business Studies, Accounting, Arabic, and Islamic Studies.

In Grade Ten, students may choose between six to nine of the above mentioned subjects to appear for the May/June or the October/November examinations the results of which are declared in August and January.

The school offers only the extended curricula, making Cambridge IGCSE suitable for a wide range of abilities.

At T.I.S. , English is given as a Second Language. This broadens the opportunities for the students to demonstrate their learning, particularly when their first language is not English. Grades are bench-marked using eight internationally recognized grades, A* to G, which have clear guidelines to explain the standard of achievement for each grade.

B. Cambridge International AS & A Level :

Thamer International Schools A Levels

Thamer International Schools are authorized to conduct Cambridge International AS & A Level Exams and holds the Cambridge International AS and A Level examination series twice a year, in May/June and October/November. Results are issued in August and January.

Cambridge International A Level is typically a two-year course, and Cambridge International AS Level is typically a one year course.

A maximum of six subjects can be taken in Grade Eleven at the AS Level, and these chosen subjects are to be continued in Grade Twelve for A2 to complete the GCE Advanced Level requirements. The minimum required number of A-level subjects for a student in any country is two.

The schools offer the following subjects at the GCE Advanced Level (AS) of the University of Cambridge Local Examination Syndicate: Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Information Technology, and Business Studies.

Students should strive to maintain at least a C grade in their IGCSEs. Grades below C, will not give them the opportunity to enroll for AS and subsequently, students are advised to rewrite the desired subjects in the October/ November session.

*The students can choose from a range of assessment options to gain Cambridge International AS and A Level qualifications:

  1. Take the Cambridge International AS Level only. The syllabus content is half a Cambridge International A Level.
  2. Take a ‘staged’ assessment route – take the Cambridge International AS Level in one examination series and complete the final Cambridge International A Level at a subsequent series.
  3. Take all papers of the Cambridge International A Level course in the same examination session, usually at the end of the course which is at end of Grade 12.

Newsletter Program

Follow our latest news and announcements by joining our newsletter program.

Thamer International Schools Transparent Logo

Copyright © 2000-2024 Thamer International Schools. All Rights Reserved. Designed and Developed by IT Department.